Government Affairs

The open town meeting with “select men” is the time-honored traditional New England form of government. As the town grew, changes were made and a town charter was adopted in 1947.

Fairfield’s government is still led by a three member Board of Selectmen, with a First Selectman who is the Chief Executive and Administrative Officer. The legislative body is the Representative Town Meeting (RTM). The RTM is limited by Charter to no more than 50 members elected from 10 voting districts.

The Town Hall government complex has been located on the Old Post Road for over 200 years. In 1979, the John J. Sullivan Independence Hall was built to accommodate the growing needs of Fairfield’s government.

Ads 01
Ads 02
Ads 03